Archivio di Stato di Milano

Legal sources

JUDICIAL RECORDS
(by Giovanni Liva)

The following table summarises the main series of documents produced by the legal offices of Milan (Court, former Magistrate’s Court, Court of Appeal, Prisons), the Military Tribunals and the Extraordinary Courts of Assize to have been deposited over the years at the State Archive of Milan. It goes without saying that consulting this table is no substitute for the careful examination of the detailed lists and inventories available to the public in the Archive’s inventories room. Please note that the documents relating to the years after those indicated are still preserved in the various legal offices of the Palazzo di Giustizia in Milan, and for the most part in the Court Archive on the ground floor of the building.

CIVIL AND CRIMINAL COURT OF MILAN

(inventories PU 41, PU 41/1, PU 23, PU 23/2)

Civil

• Civil judgments (1866-1983)
• Alphabetical indexes of civil judgments (1866-1983. Missing: 1902, 1906, 1907, 1910, 1920, 1922, 1930 letters A-F, 1935 letters G-Z)
• Registers of general records of civil cases (1964-1975)
• Indexes of general records of civil cases (1959-1967)
• Bankruptcy declarations (1871-1967. Missing: 1872, 1901-1911, 1913-1923, 1925-1926, 1928-1930, 1932-1935, 1940. With gaps 1912, 1924, 1927, 1931, 1936, 1937)
• Alphabetical indexes of bankruptcy declarations (1871-1904. Missing: 1872)
• Bankruptcy registers (1922-1970)
• Commerce judgments (1866-1888. With gaps: 1868 and 1887)
• Alphabetical indexes of commerce judgments (1871-1888)
• Adjudication and sales judgments (1866-1907)
• Alphabetical indexes of adjudication and sales judgments (1866-1903)
• Marital status judgments (1866-1913. Missing: 1883-1886)
• Alphabetical indexes of marital status judgments (1867-1983. Missing: 1883-1886)
• Creditor ranking files (1865-1914)
• Alphabetical indexes of creditor ranking files (1865-1914. Missing: 1883-1886)
• Creditor ranking judgments (1933-1955. Missing: Sept-Dec 1935 and 1936)
• Separation judgments (1866-1920. Missing: 1883-1885, Oct-Dec1887, July-Dec 1906)
• Separation files (1901-1987)
• Alphabetical indexes of separation files (1921-1987)
• Separation records (1941-1987. Missing: 1952-1958)
• Voluntary jurisdiction judgments (1960-1973 May)
• Voluntary jurisdiction decrees (1883-1920. With gaps: 1884)
• Voluntary jurisdiction registers (1944-1968)
• Alphabetical indexes of voluntary jurisdiction (1883-1959. Missing: 1955-1956)
• Declarations of deaths in absentia (1942-1975)
• Estrangements (1904-1919. With gaps: 1914-1915)
• Injunctions (1949-1987): all volumes of decrees were preserved for the years 1942-1948 plus a sample for the years 1949-1987
• Labour judgments and settlements (1938-1967)
• Divorce files (1970-1980)
• Divorce indexes (1971-1980)
• Divorce records (1970-1980)

Criminal

• Criminal judgments court of first instance (1862-1988. Missing: 1901-1904, 1906-1914, 1916-1918, 1920-1921, 1924. With gaps: 1897, 1900, 1905, 1919, 1922-1923, 1925-1941)
• Indexes of criminal judgments (1861-1908; 1956-1980. Missing: 1866-1870, 1874-1882, 1892)
• Chronological lists of criminal judgments court of first instance (1935-1939. Missing: 1937)
• General records criminal court of first instance (1936-1967. Missing: 1961-1963 and part of 1964)
• Indexes of general records court of first instance (1947-1967)
• Criminal judgments court of second instance (1901-1988. Missing: 1919, 1922. With gaps: 1908, 1912, 1917, 1928, 1930, 1932-1933, 1939)
• Chronological lists of criminal judgments court of second instance (1927-1941. Missing: 1930, 1932, 1935, 1937-1938)
• Chronological lists of criminal judgments court of first and second instance (1942-1967)
• General records criminal court of second instance (1950-1964)
• Indexes of general records criminal court of second instance (1946-1955)
• Examining magistrate’s office - General records known defendants A (1946-1975)
• Examining magistrate’s office - Indexes of general records known defendants A (1932-1975. Missing: 1933-1938)
• Examining magistrate’s office - General records unknown defendants B (1945-1973)
• Examining magistrate’s office - Indexes of general records unknown defendants B (1942-1975. Missing: 1943-1965)
• Examining magistrate’s office - Registers of active and passive letters rogatory (1973-1975)
• Samples of criminal proceedings files of the Examining Magistrate (1957-1975)
• Council Chamber judgments (1976-1980)

COURT OF RHO

Civil

• Civil judgments (1866-1975)
• Wills (1940-1975)
• Injunctions (1951-1975)

Criminal

• Criminal judgments (1956-1975)
• Criminal convictions (1947-1975)

MAGISTRATE’S COURT OF RHO

(inventory PU 48)

 

Criminal

• Criminal judgments (1863-1965)
• Criminal convictions (1913-1949)

MAGISTRATE’S COURT OF CASSANO D'ADDA

(inventory PU 39)

• Criminal judgments (1918-1980)
• Indexes of criminal judgments (1945-1969)
• Criminal convictions (1948-1980)
• Civil judgments (1935-1980)

COURT OF WATERS OF MILAN

(inventory PU 43)

• Judgments (1921-1980)
• Index of general records (1945-1946)
• Case files (1920-1960. Missing: 1950-1956)

MAGISTRATE’S COURT OF MILAN

(inventory PU 38)

Civil

• Civil judgments (1922-1980. Missing: 1923-1935. With gaps: 1939)
• Indexes of civil judgments (1932-1980. Missing: 1935-1938, 1946-1947, 1952-1956)
• Registers of general litigation records (1948-1973. With gaps: 1950 and 1957)
• Indexes of general litigation records (1950-1973)
• Ordinary labour judgments and settled labour judgments (1974-1988)
• Indexes of ordinary labour judgments (1974-1988)
• Indexes of settled labour judgments (1959-1988)
• Adoptions (1968-1987)
• Deaths in absentia (1976-1980)
• Alimony (1960-1963)
• Estrangements (1962-1978)
• Paternity (1960-1963)

Criminal

• Criminal judgments (1862-1980. Missing: Oct 1892, Dec 1901, Oct 1902, March and Aug 1907, Apr 1913, Oct 1914, Apr-June 1921, 1922-1924)
• General records of criminal judgments (1941-1980)
• Indexes of general records of criminal judgments (1944-1980)
• Criminal convictions (1950-1980)
• Registers of criminal convictions (1944-1980)

COURT OF APPEAL OF MILAN

(inventories PU 34 and PU 26)

Civil

• Civil judgments (1864-1980)
• Indexes of civil judgments (1867-1979. Missing: 1869, 1942-1944)
• General registers of civil and commercial cases (1883-1921)
• Indexes of general registers of civil and commercial cases (1886-1920)
• General records of civil litigation cases (1939-1981)
• Indexes of general records of civil litigation cases (1932-1980. Missing: 1934-1935, 1945-1956)
• Ordinary civil case files (1942-1945. With gaps: 1942)
• Appeals, convictions and other civil law measures (1901-1981)
• Settlement minutes (1942-1988)
• Voluntary jurisdiction judgments (1962-1981)
• Records of voluntary jurisdiction appeals (1948-1979. Missing: 1952-1955, 1962-1966)
• Indexes of records of voluntary jurisdiction appeals (1932-1980)
• Adoption registers (1939-1967)
• Indexes of adoption registers (1939-1967)

Criminal

• Criminal judgments (1862-1980)
• Chronological lists of criminal judgments (1949-1980)
• General registers of criminal cases (1862-1908)
• Indexes of general registers of criminal cases (1901-1980. Missing: 1909-1928, 1929-1942)
• Registers of the records office of the Court of Appeal for appeals against court judgments (1932-1980) (also known as general records of criminal cases)
• General records juvenile crime (1934-1979)
• Registers of executive judge (1976-1998)
• Rehabilitation judgments (1906-1991. Missing: 1916-1917)
• Registers of rehabilitation notifications (1947-1983)
• Judgments of the indictment division (1932-1959)
• Index of the indictment division (1960-1965)
• General records of the indictment division (1949-1986)
• Judgments of the prosecuting division (1862-1931. Missing: Dec 1869, June Sept 1876)
• General registers of the prosecuting division (1862-1912)
• Indexes of the general registers of the prosecuting division (1900-1907)
• Indictment division, executive files (1939-1945; 1946 part)

Labour court

• Judgments (1928-1956)
• Index of judgments (1941-1956)
• General records (1942-1953)
• Index of general records (1941-1956)
• Case files (1929-1956. With gaps: 1929)
• Judgments injuries division (1938-1942)
• Index of judgments of the injuries division (1938-1942)
• Case files of the injuries division (1938-1942)

MILAN COURT OF ASSIZE OF THE FIRST INSTANCE

(inventory PU 35)

• Judgments (1862-1975. Missing: 1866, 1895, 1900-1902)
• General records (1862-1975)
• Indexes of defendants (1940-1975)
• Trial bundles (1920-1978)
• Criminal proceedings against Gaetano Bresci (1900-1901)

COURT OF ASSIZE OF COMO, PAVIA, SONDRIO

(inventory PU 36)

• Judgments (1931-1951)

APPELLATE COURT OF ASSIZE OF MILAN

(inventory PU 37)

• Judgments (1951-1968)
• General registers (1951-1963)
• Orders (1955-1980)
• Trial bundles (1937-1965)

WARTIME REGIONAL MILITARY TRIBUNAL OF MILAN

(inventory PU 33)

• Archived proceedings (1944-1953)
• Alphabetical index of archived proceedings and list of records

WARTIME REGIONAL MILITARY TRIBUNAL FOR THE NAVY

(inventory PU 32)

• Archived proceedings (1944-1953)
• Alphabetical index of archived proceedings and list of records

 

WARTIME REGIONAL MILITARY TRIBUNAL OF BRESCIA

(inventory PU 31)

• Archived proceedings (1944-1953)
• Alphabetical index of archived proceedings and list of records

TERRITORIAL MILITARY TRIBUNAL OF MILAN

(inventories PU 28/1-2 and PU 44)

• Judgments, orders, convictions (1891-1964)
• General records (1901-1931)
• Archived proceedings first series (1908-1931)
• Archived proceedings second series (1941-1964)
• Registers of executive judge’s records office (1941-1964)
• Indexes of executive judge’s records office (1922-1964)

PRISONS OF MILAN

(inventory PU 27)

• Prisoner registers (1859-1911 and 1940-1945)
• Indexes of prisoner registers (1862-1911)
• Registers of prison population (1862-1879)
• Protocols (1861-1891)

EXTRAORDINARY COURT OF ASSIZE OF LODI (1945-1947)

(inventory PU 25/3 and 25/4)

• Files
• Judgements
• General register

EXTRAORDINARY COURT OF ASSIZE OF MILAN (1944-1948)

(inventory no. PU 25/2 and 25/4)

• Files
• Koch trial (inventory no. PU 22)
• Judgements
• General registers
• Indexes Milan Lodi

EXTRAORDINARY COURT OF ASSIZE OF MONZA (1945-1946)

(inventory PU 25/1)

• Files
• Judgements
• Indexes
• General registers

REGIONAL ADMINISTRATIVE COURT (TAR)

• General registers of appeals (1974-1987)
• Indexes of appeals (1970-1987)
• General division registers (1982-1987)
• Registers of lodged proceedings and documents (1974-1987)
• Registers of scheduled hearings (1974-1987)
• Registers of motions to withdraw (1983-1989)
• Registers of judgments (1975-1988)
• Registers of stays of execution (1974-1987)
• Registers of inquests (1983-1989)
• Stays of execution (1974-1984)
• Upheld appeals (1974-1986)

 

Last updated: 24/05/2024